kelise

and at least 72 stories about art, the unusual, and out-of-the-way places

Make your story

One way to bust artist’s block and keep yourself busy making art is to submit your work to the many juried events and exhibitions in the UK and beyond! A selection of competitions are listed below, many of them awarding substantial prizes for work in 2-D (painting, drawing, print-making, etc.), 3-D (sculpture, installation, etc.), film/video, photography, etc. Most charge a small fee to enter (which often covers administration costs), and should your work be selected, the rewards vary from cash to commissioned work along with the chance to join an exhibition and be included in critical write-ups.

Let me know if you think there are some opportunities that could be added to this list!

Also, click the link to read more practical info about applying to open calls.

Selected London-based art prizes, commissions, etc. (by deadline date)

Project/event name (click link for more info) Apply deadline Event dates
Jerwood Project Space open bi-monthly
Bloomberg New Contemporaries* Jan 2017 Jul 2016; 23nd Nov 2016 – 22 Jan 2017
Royal Society of Painters Open Portrait Prize Jan 2017 May 2017
Ashurst Emerging Art Prize* 15 Jan 2017** Jul-Sept
Jerwood Open Forest 1 Feb 2016 Nov/Dec 2016 (exhibit), 2017 (commission)
BP Portrait Award Feb 2017 Jun-Sep 2017
Frieze Artist Award 10 Feb 2017 October
RA Summer Exhibition 15 Feb 2017 Summer
Jerwood Makers Open Feb 2017 July/August
Jerwood Painting Fellowships Spring biennially
Jerwood/FVU Awards Spring Mar-May following
Contemporary British Painting Prize 30 Apr 2017 Aug-Oct 2017
Jerwood Drawing Prize Jun/Jul Sept-Oct

Art for Youth

May/Jun Dec 2017
Derwent Art Prize for Drawing June 2017 Sept
Griffin Art Prizeand residency July 2017 Nov/Dec
National Open Art prize July 2017 Aug/Sept
London Open triennial at Whitechapel Sept 2017 July – Sept 2018
John Moores Painting prize at Liverpool Biennial TBC Jul – Nov 2017
Columbia Threadneedle Prize TBC Sep 2017(London), Jul 2017 (Italy)
Lynn Painter-Stainer Prize 19 Dec 2016 6-19 Mar 2017
Jerwood Photoworks TBC Nov/Dec?
Frieze Foundation Projects TBC October
Hyundai Commission series at Tate invite only Yearly

* NOTE: These events/open calls are for emerging artists such as those under a certain age, final year BFA/BA/MFA/MA students and/or recent graduates only.

** For the Ashurst Art Prize, early entries received by 18 Dec 2016 can get feedback from our experts

Also keep an eye on these websites…

There are a number of art-related websites, too, where other opportunities are listed on a regular basis, including residencies, projects, collaborations, exhibitions, events, talks, and more.

Art Asia Pacific http://artasiapacific.com/
Art for Youth – annual charity/fund-raising event http://www.artforyouth.com/
Art Forum http://artforum.com/
Art Radar Journal http://artradarjournal.com/
Art Review http://artreview.com/
Artist Residencies website – ResArtis http://www.resartis.org/en/residencies/list_of_residencies/
ArtQuest – a-q http://www.artquest.org.uk/
Arts Council http://www.artscouncil.org.uk/
Arts Jobs http://www.artsjobs.org.uk/
Art with a Heart http://www.artwithaheart.org.uk/
Biennial Foundation http://www.biennialfoundation.org/
British School at Rome [BSR] – awards for humanities, visual arts, and architecture http://www.bsr.ac.uk/awards/fine-arts
IBRAAZ http://www.ibraaz.org/
ICA – Institute for Contemporary Art https://www.ica.org.uk/working-ica
International Association of Art Critics http://www.aicauk.org/
Mall Galleries open calls http://www.mallgalleries.org.uk/call-for-entries/open-exhibitions
Re-Title – Intl Contemporary Art Directory http://www.re-title.com/
South London Gallery http://www.southlondongallery.org
Southbank Centre/Hayward Gallery http://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/venues/hayward-gallery
Tate http://www.tate.org.uk/
UAL alumni listings http://www.arts.ac.uk/alumni-and-friends/
UAL Showroom and other alumni opportunities http://www.arts.ac.uk/student-jobs-and-careers/exhibit-and-sell-your-work/exhibiting-with-careers-and-employability/
Whitechapel London Open http://www.whitechapelgallery.org/

And let’s not forget the art fairs…

Biennials Links Dates
Documenta – Kassel, Germany http://www.biennialfoundation.org/biennials/documenta/ 5 yrs
Manifesta – European cities http://manifesta.org/ even years
Nour Festival – London, UK https://www.rbkc.gov.uk/subsites/nour.aspx odd years
Qalandiya International Biennial – Palestine http://www.qalandiyainternational.org/ even years
Sharjah Biennale – Dubai, UAE http://www.sharjahart.org/ odd years
Shubbak Festival – London, UK http://www.shubbak.co.uk/ odd years
Venice Biennale – Venice, Italy http://www.labiennale.org/en/Home.html odd years
Annuals Links Dates
Affordable Art Fair – Battersea, London http://affordableartfair.com/battersea/ Mar
Art Basel – Basel Germany; Miami; Hong Kong https://www.artbasel.com/
Jun; Dec; Mar
Frieze – London, UK http://friezelondon.com/ Oct
London Art Fair – London, UK http://www.londonartfair.co.uk/ Jan
Other Art Fair – London, UK http://www.theotherartfair.com/ Apr
Parallax – London, UK http://parallaxaf.co/ Feb
SOFA – Chicago, IL http://www.sofaexpo.com/ Nov

 

%d bloggers like this: